Home sweet House!

It was Thursday, Jakub and I were planning to go see my parents and then see his family in New Jersey the day after. We had a busy weekend to plan for. However, I had decided that I wanted to see houses that day. I had scheduled appointments and they needed to be kept- come hell or high water! I had been looking the night before and saw a beautiful home! I was so excited to see it. So excited I couldn’t sleep and kept looking at the listings late into the night. Around midnight I saw another home go onto the market that looked promising too- gotta love the spring market! And I thought while we are in the area, lets see it! So with all that in mind I was trying to get the family ready for the weekend and see the houses. Jakub was working form home, Mateusz needed to be packed, I needed to pack and we needed to all be in the car by 3:30 to make it on time. 

 

3:45 we pull off the curb. Late. Jakub and I are bickering the whole way there. Tensions are high while we drive into the rainy gloomy weather. We arrive late, as expected. But tentions die as we see the house that I scheduled at midnight. Charming. That is the word. Charming. It is a bit far from town, but oh the house. Configuration just like I wanted. Three bedrooms upstairs, one down stairs, a finished basement, dinning room, living room, biggish kitchen. Just wow. Perfection condition. A deck, a sun room, a garage. Level property, woods, friendly neighborhood, quiet street. I mean, wow. The relator makes a comment, this house won’t stay on the market long. Jakub and I think on it. But there are other houses to see, so we quickly wrap things up and off we go. 

The second house has a lot going for it, till we see the basement. There is a huge stone on the middle of the floor. Rock all around. Impossible to finish off. 

The third house…are kidding me? complete overhaul. No way. 

Jakub and I are talking. I am on the fence. I mean, we didnt really see the house. We just kind of walked through. But the space, for that price. It is the nicest house we have seen. And it wont stay on the market long. By midnight, I have decided I want that house. I wake Jakub up, want to put a bid in? In the morning we discuss it. I am adamant, I want to put a bid in. Just to test the waters. Jakub calls family. Second opinions are good. He calls the relator, maybe we can drive back to see it today. Relator says there are two other families seeing for a second time on Saturday,we have to make a move. Jakub and I get the in car to see the house again, a two hour drive over mountains. It is snowy we have to turn back and just put a bid in. 

It is Friday the 13. 8 months to the day after Mateusz was born. We make our move and bid. All eggs in one basket.

Saturday night we get a call from the relator. Three other offers on OUR house. What is our max? How bad do we want it? Jakub and I are talk. We are willing to let it go. It is a beautiful home, but if it’s not meant to be, so be it. It was a great learning experience, but we are realistic. We put our max , but are feeling like we can walk away. We are flexible with moving  so I hope that works in our favor. We did the best we could and now it is not in our hands. 

Sunday we get a call from our relator. Our bid was accepted. Very calm and nonchalant. Our bid was accepted. Our offer was competitive, it was the first offer, and we were flexible with move in date. Our bid was accepted. We have a home. A home, a house for Mateusz. A place for his room. A yard for him to play in. We are thrilled. 

 

Tuesday we see the house a second time. Vastly different is it this time, knowing that it will be ours. I love it. I mean, I let the full feelings flow. This is a great home for us. A great home for our family. Charming. So charming. And it will be ours. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment